St Peter's Village Tour

Attend our flagship award winning Village Tour and meet many costumed characters from past centuries along with some surprises on the way! During the tour you will see the flint built Church and find out a little more about it long history.

You will hear of conditions in the workhouse, the Newbolts breakfast concerts for hundreds of fashionable people, the tower used in the Napoleonic wars, famous (and infamous) local residents and our ancient seat of local government for the area 

The tour is conducted in 5 groups of 10 visitors and covers less than a mile of flat walking, but does involve standing for a number of 5 minute presentations. It includes a break for tea or coffee (although no break on evening tours, or inclement weather tours). You are advised to allow two and a half hours for your tour. In very inclement weather we provide an Inclement weather routine.

Access for visitors with disabilities. Children are very welcome on our tour. We would however, suggest a minimum age of 10 years to fully appreciate the experience. At the end of the tour you are invited to contribute towards our costs which average £4 per adult. After the tour light lunches and cream teas can be made avaliable in the Red Lion, opposite the Church, by calling Kim on 01843 600895.

All tours are conducted in English only.

Allow two and a half hours.Free, donations of £4 invited. Booking essential.

During wet weather the tour takes place entirely within the Church.

Opening Times

2016 Tours
Thursday 5th May 1.30pm
Thursday 12th May 1.30pm
Thursday 19th May 9.30am
Thursday 26th May 9.30am
Thursday 2nd June 1.30pm
Thursday 9th June 1.30pm
Thursday 16th June 9.30am
Saturday 25th June 9.30am
Thursday 30th June 1.30pm
Thursday 7th July 1.30pm
Thursday 14th July 9.30am
Thursday 21st July 6.30pm
Tuesday 26th July 9.30am
Thursday 28th July 1.30pm
Thursday 4th August 9.30am
Tuesday 9th August 9.30am
Thursday 14th August 1.30pm
Thursday 18th August 9.30am
Thursday 25th August 1.30pm
Thursday 1st September 9.30am
Thursday 8th September 1.30pm
Saturday 10th September 9.30am

Facilities

  • Pets welcome
  • Guided tours
  • Groups welcome
  • Coaches welcome
  • Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome