St Peter's Village Tour

Attend our flagship award winning Village Tour and meet many costumed characters from past centuries along with some surprises on the way! During the tour you will see the flint built Church and find out a little more about it long history.

You will hear of conditions in the workhouse, the Newbolts breakfast concerts for hundreds of fashionable people, the tower used in the Napoleonic wars, famous (and infamous) local residents and our ancient seat of local government for the area 

The tour is conducted in 5 groups of 10 visitors and covers less than a mile of flat walking, but does involve standing for a number of 5 minute presentations. It includes a break for tea or coffee (although no break on evening tours, or inclement weather tours). You are advised to allow two and a half hours for your tour. In very inclement weather we provide an Inclement weather routine.

Access for visitors with disabilities. Children are very welcome on our tour. We would however, suggest a minimum age of 10 years to fully appreciate the experience. At the end of the tour you are invited to contribute towards our costs which average £4 per adult. After the tour light lunches and cream teas can be made avaliable in the Red Lion, opposite the Church, by calling Kim on 01843 600895.

All tours are conducted in English only.

Allow two and a half hours.Free, donations of £4 invited. Booking essential.

During wet weather the tour takes place entirely within the Church.

Opening Times

2017 Tours
Thursday 18th May 9.30am
Thursday 25th May 9.30am
Thursday 1st June 1.30pm
Thursday 8th June 9.30am
Thursday 15th June 1.30pm
Saturday 24th June 9.30am
Thursday 29th June 9.30am
Tuesday 4th July 1.30pm
Thursday 6th July 1.30pm
Thursday 13th July 9.30am
Thursday 20th July 6.30pm
Thursday 27th July 1.30pm
Thursday 3rd August 9.30am
Thursday 10th August 1.30pm
Tuesday 15th August 9.30am
Thursday 17th August 1.30pm
Thursday 24th August 1.30pm
Thursday 31st August 9.30am
Thursday 7th September 1.30pm
Saturday 9th September 1.30pm
Thursday 14th September 9.30am

Facilities

  • Pets welcome
  • Guided tours
  • Groups welcome
  • Coaches welcome
  • Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome